Who will be the next ICC Chairman after Shashank Manohar? Read More


Shashank Manohar stepped down from the post of ICC Chairman on Wednesday. The tenure of Shashank Manohar as the ICC’s first independent chairman ended on Wednesday after he stepped from the position.

Shashank Manohar took the charge as the ICC Chairman in November 2015. “ICC Chairman Shashank Manohar has stepped down after two, two-year tenures at its helm. The ICC Board met today and agreed that Deputy Chairman Imran Khwaja will assume the responsibilities of the Chairperson until a successor is elected,” ICC stated in a release. 

As per ICC rules, Manohar could have stayed for another two-year term as a maximum of three years is allowed. The 62-year-old lawyer had previously been the BCCI President from 2008 to 2011. The process for the election of the next chairperson is to be approved by the ICC Board within the next week. The ICC Chief Executive Manu Sawhney thanked Manohar “for his leadership and everything he has done for the sport as ICC Chairman.” 

Khwaja said that Shashank the ex-chairman of ICC is leaving the sport in a good position. “There is no doubt that cricket owes Shashank a debt of gratitude for all he has done for the sport. He has left cricket and the ICC in a better place than he found it,” he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here