WI vs PAK 2021: Pakistan named a 19 Member squad for West Indies Test Series


Ahead of the WI vs PAK 2021 test series commencing on 12th August, Pakistan has announced a 19 member test squad for the two-match test series against West Indies. This test series is a part of the first six test series in the new cycle of WTC 2021-2023. The two test series will be played at Sabina Park on Thursday.

The squad was confirmed by Pakistan captain Babar Azam during his pre-series media conference. “Looking at the likely team composition for the two tests & giving preference to the well-being of the players, it has been agreed to release Haris Rauf & Mohammad Nawaz so that they can return & spend quality time with their families”, Babar said in a PCB release.

“This will also give them a few extra days to relax, regroup & recharge for the commitment ahead, which commence with the series against Afghanistan. The past 12 months have been tough & the cricket that lays ahead is equally challenging & demanding. As such, we need to have as many fresh bodies as practically possible without comprising on the team results & performances”, he added.

Talking about the upcoming test series against West Indies, Babar said, “Away test series are always challenging & it is our endeavor to be a high performing team on away series. Red ball cricket is the principal format of the game & is a test of skill, endurance, technique, patience & fitness“.

Jamaican pitches provide a good challenge to the batters hence our batters need to come to the party & display their true potential & caliber in the two tests. They have performed well this year & it is now time to take that confidence into the test series & put up an improved and enhanced performance”, he added.

In the past, both West Indies & Pakistan have come into a face-off in 17 test series. Out of 17 test series, Pakistan had a 6-5 edge over the West Indies. However, West Indies enjoys a clear 4-1 lead over Pakistan in the eighth series played on the grounds of West Indies. The two teams last came into a face-off in the year 2016-2017 where Pakistan ended its winning drought in West Indies by winning their first-ever Test series by a 2-1 score.

WI vs PAK 2021: Pakistan Squad

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (VC & WK), Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Hasan Ali, Imran Butt, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmad (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Yasir Shah & Zahir Mahmood.

Catch up with the Latest News on ICC Test Rankings only at Crikcetflicker.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here