Wednesday, February 1, 2023
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News NZ W vs WI W: CWI names 17-Member Squad for ODI Series

NZ W vs WI W: CWI names 17-Member Squad for ODI Series

NZ W vs WI W: CWI names 17-Member Squad for ODI Series

NZ W vs WI W: Cricket West Indies on Tuesday named a 17-member provisional squad for their upcoming ODI series against New Zealand. What comes as a major breakthrough is the inclusion of Wicketkeeper-batter Natasha McLean and offspinner Sheneta Grimmond to the West Indies Women’s ODI squad. While the squad also features U-19 uncapped left-arm pacer Jannillea Glasgow.

Newly named Captain Hayley Matthews will lead the 17member provisional squad which is a mix of young as well as experienced players. The squad will miss the services of a few senior players this time, such as Anisa Mohammed, Deandra Dottin, and Kycia Knight. While Anisa took a six-month break from cricket earlier this month, Dottin announced a sudden international retirement during the Commonwealth Games last month.

The players who have displayed mind-blowing performances during the Women’s 6ixty & CPL 2022 were taken into consideration while announcing the 17member squad. During the Women’s CPL final, Grimond shone bright with the ball by scalping 2 wickets for 22 for Trinbago Knight Riders. She also claimed four wickets in her 6.2 overs during the 6ixty tournament. On the other hand, Glasgow too represented Trinbago Knight Riders in both the 6ixty & Women’s CPL 2022 but couldn’t get many opportunities to prove her mettle with bat or bowl.

On the International front, Grimond last featured for West Indies in the Pakistan series last year in November while McLean’s last international game was a T20I in September 2020, and her last ODI was in November 2019. McLean has the experience of 30 ODIs to her name and Grimmond has seven.

“The New Zealand series is very important on the women’s cricket landscape not only because it starts a new cycle, but also because it is part of the preparation leading towards the T20 World Cup in South Africa,” lead selector for women’s cricket Ann Browne-John said.

“With a few senior players unavailable at this time, for different reasons, like the experienced Anisa Mohammed, Kycia Knight, and recently retired Deandra Dottin, the selectors were still able to get a blend of senior and developing players including Under-19 player Jannillea Glasgow and returning players Natasha McLean and Sheneta Grimmond. Ultimately, we believe that captain Hayley Matthews, in her first series, will have a promising squad of players to start building with.”

The bilateral series will begin on September 16

This will be the first time that West Indies will play in any format since their last fixture in ICC ODI World Cup Semi-finals back in March 2022 which they lost to Australia. CWI further said that a squad of 13 players will be picked ahead of each ODI fixture. The ODIs will be played from September 16 to 22 which will be followed by five T20Is from September 25 to October 6. Both the series will be played at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium.

The ODIs will be a part of the New Women’s Championship cycle in which both West Indies and New Zealand are yet to play a game.

NZ W vs WI W: West Indies ODI Squad

Hayley Matthews (capt), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle (wk), Shamilia Connell, Afy Fletcher, Cherry Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Jannillea Glasgow, Sheneta Grimmond, Chinelle Henry, Kyshona Knight, Natasha McLean (wk), Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Shakera Selman, Stafanie Taylor, Rashada Williams

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!






NZ W vs WI W: CWI names 17-Member Squad for ODI Series
Sarah Shaikh
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

IND vs NZ: New Zealand announces Squad for India T20I series

IND vs NZ: New Zealand has announced 15 member squad for their upcoming T20I Series against India beginning later this month. And there comes...

SEC vs PC Prediction, Sunrisers Eastern Capitals vs Pretoria Capitals Probable Playing XIs

SEC vs PC: The much anticipated SA20 league has begun with zest & peps with big names of World Cricket participating in the tournament....

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars put an end to their Losing Streak

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars powered a thumping victory over Adelaide Strikers in their recently concluded pool stage fixture in Victoria. With this victory,...

BCCI to unveil Women’s IPL franchises on January 25

The Board of Cricket Control for India (BCCI) is set to announce the names of the five franchises that will battle it out for...