Seales, McCoy, Smith earns West Indies Retainer Contracts for 2022-2023 Season


Seales, McCoy, Smith earns West Indies Retainer Contracts for 2022-2023 Season


Cricket West Indies on Wednesday announced International Retainer contracts for both men & women players for the 2022-2023 season. Jayden Seales, Obed McCoy & Odean Smith have been awarded their maiden international retainer contracts. In total 18 men’s & women’s players have received retainer contracts. Brandon King, Rovman Powell, and Romario Shepherd are the other players who have received retainer contracts while Fabien Allen, Darren Bravo, Evin Lewis, Rahkeem Cornwall, and Shannon Gabriel have been omitted from the contract list.

In the Women’s team, all-rounders Mandy Mangru, Jannillea Glasgow, batter Rashada Williams & Karishma Ramharack have received West Indies retainer contracts. Meanwhile, Britney Cooper, Sheneta Grimmond, Shawnisha Hector, and Qiana Joseph have been excluded from the previous contract list.

Cricket West Indies have also stated that the structure of men’s retainer contracts has been changed. “To offer player contracts across all formats of cricket, compared to specific red or white-ball contracts in previous years,” said CWI in a statement.

The decision of changing the structure was taken after an evaluation of players’ performance from April 1, 2021, to March 31, 2022, supported by data from the 2019-2020 evaluation period.

“This allows for all players to be appraised immediately after the Evaluation Period and provides a notice period before new contracts start on 1 July 2022. The system is designed to reward hard work and performance results,” CWI added to its statement.

Speaking about the International retainer contracts, Desmond Haynes, the men’s lead selector, said, “With general retainer contracts, it gives us a pool of talented and dedicated cricketers, who can take West Indies cricket forward in years to come.”

Cricket West Indies also stated that all the players who have not received International Retainer Contracts are offered an A-grade Regional Franchise Contract for the following year.

Full List of Men’s Contracted Players

Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Kraigg Brathwaite, Joshua Da Silva, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Full List of Women’s Contracted Players

Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Cherry Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Jannillea Glasgow, Chinelle Henry, Mandy Mangru, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Kaysia Schultz, Shakera Selman, Stafanie Taylor, Rashada Williams.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!