Alex Carey to replace Tim Paine in the opening test of the Ashes 2021-2022 Series


Alex carey to replace Tim Paine in the opening test of the Ashes 2021-2022 Series

The wicket-keeper batsman Alex Carey will make his test debut in the opening Test of the Ashes 2021-2022 series in Brisbane. He has been named by Cricket Australia as the wicketkeeper for the game at the Gabba.

“I am incredibly humbled by this opportunity. It’s an exciting build-up for what is a huge series ahead. My focus is on preparing and playing my part in helping Australia secure the Ashes,” Carey said on Thursday (December 2). “This is also for my dad who has been my coach, mentor, and mate, my mum, my wife Eloise, kids Louis and Clementine, my brother and sister, and all of those who have supported me. I will be doing my absolute best to make them and our country proud.”

Though Carey’s form in the recently concluded season of Sheffield Shield was not appealing as he has managed to score just 153 runs in eight innings averaging 21.85 with the highest score of 66 not out. But he regained his form by scoring 101 against Queensland in the One-Day Cup match at the end of last month.

Alex Carey will replace Tim Paine who has taken an indefinite break from all forms of cricket after stepping down from his role of captain in the wake of the sexting scandal. Pat Cummins was appointed as Test Captain with Steve Smith named as his deputy.

Speaking about Alex Carey’s inclusion in the Test squad in place of Tim Paine the chairman of selection panel George Bailey said, “Alex has been a regular member of the national side in white-ball cricket, particularly in the one-day game. He is an excellent cricketer and a fine individual who will bring many great strengths into the team.”

The first test of the much anticipated Ashes 2021-2022 series will be played on December 8 in Brisbane.

Australia squad for the first Test:

Pat Cummins (c), Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith (VC), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here