Friday, December 2, 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News SL vs AFG ODI Series: Afghanistan announces 18 member squad

SL vs AFG ODI Series: Afghanistan announces 18 member squad

SL vs AFG ODI Series: Afghanistan announces 18 member squad

SL vs AFG ODI Series: ACB has announced an 18-member squad for three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka beginning on November 25 in Sri Lanka. Afghanistan has named swashbuckling all-rounder Gulbaddin Naib & left-arm wrist-spinner Noor Ahmad to the announced squad. Whilst the rest of the squad is the same from Afghanistan’s previous 3-0 ODI series win against Zimbabwe early in June.

Young sensation Noor, who hasn’t made his ODI debut but has built a good name in various T20 leagues across the globe got successful in reserving his spot in the ODI squad as well. He returned with figures of 4 for 10 on his T20I debut which is the best Joint debut figure in T20Is involving two full-member teams & was recently a part of Afghanistan’s 2022 Asia Cup Squad. Though he couldn’t make a cut in the T20 World Cup squad, he has been with Afghanistan’s squad on regular basis, despite not getting more game time.

Former ODI Captain, Naib last played a 50-over match against Bangladesh in February but was seen in one of Afghanistan’s T20 World Cup fixtures as a replacement for injured Hazratullah Zazai. The remaining squad looks well set with Hashmatullah Shahidi leading the squad. He will form Afghanistan’s top order along with Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah & rahmanullah Gurbaz. Mohammad Nabi who stepped down as T20I Captain after Afghanistan’s humiliating show in T20 World Cup where they failed to win even a single fixture is a notable inclusion in the squad. Mujeeb-Ur-Rahman & Rashid Khan comprises their bowling unit.

“The selectors have included some young faces for the series which is a good sign for us leading into the ICC Cricket World Cup next year. The series is vital for us in terms of our qualification for the mega event next year and I am sure the squad carries enough strength to do well when they get to the field,” Naseeb Khan, the ACB CEO, was quoted via a press release.

The three-match ODI series is a part of the ODI Super League & will commence on November 25. All three fixtures will be played in Kandy. Afghanistan is placed in the seventh spot on the ODI Super League Points Table with ten victories in 12 matches.

Afghanistan Full squad:

Hashmatullah Shahidi (capt), Rahmat Shah (vice-capt), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Azmatullah Omarzai, Fareed Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Gulbadin Naib, Ibrahim Zadran, Ikram Alikhil (wk), Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Noor Ahmad, Rashid Khan, Riaz Hassan, Shahidullah Kamal, Yamin Ahmadzai, Zia-ur-Rehman

SL vs AFG ODI Series: Schedule

Nov 25: 1st ODI, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium
Nov 27: 2nd ODI, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium
Nov 30: 3rd ODI, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!

SL vs AFG ODI Series: Afghanistan announces 18 member squad
Sarah Shaikh
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

ENG vs PAK 1st Test: England registers a record breaking 506 runs on Day 1

ENG vs PAK 1st Test: England's Cricket team scripted history by becoming the first team in the history of World Cricket to register more...

ILT20: Sharjah Warriors appoints Moeen Ali as their Captain

England’s all-rounder Moeen Ali has been appointed as the Captain of the Sharjah Warriors franchise for the inaugural edition of ILT20 beginning in January...

BCCI announces appointment of three-member CAC

The BCCI on Thursday appointed a three-member Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) including former India Cricketers Ashok Malhotra, Sulakshana Nail & Jatin Paranjpe. The elite...

Abu Dhabi T10 League 2022: Rashid Khan joins New York Strikers

One of the best leg-spinners in World Cricket, Rashid Khan is all set to rock the field in the Sixth edition of the Abu...