Friday, December 2, 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News SLC to launch Lanka T10 League in June 2023

SLC to launch Lanka T10 League in June 2023

SLC to launch Lanka T10 League in June 2023

Sri Lanka Cricket is all set to launch its own inaugural T10 league in June 2023 named ‘Lanka T10 League. The tournament will host both men’s & women’s competitions in the same slot which means the matches would be played concurrently or on alternate days though SLC hasn’t revealed its details yet.

SLC has also announced that the league will feature six men’s & four women’s teams with each team named after a Sri Lankan city just like the Lanka Premier League. Though precise dates & venues are yet to be finalized, it is expected that venues in Kandy & Hambantota will host the fixtures. SLC anticipates that around 1600 players would register for the League, this was also the number for the most recent Abu Dhabi T10 league whose player draft is yet to be announced. Each team can feature 16 players of which six players would be overseas players.

The tournament will be played over the next 12 days in June 2023. However, SLC is planning to host the Lanka T10 league in December with LPL set to occupy the August window.

“Next year also we will have the LPL in December, but going forward we have reserved a window in August for that,” SLC CEO Ashley de Silva said. “So for next year, we will have the Lanka T10 in June and the LPL in December, but from 2024 onwards, the Lanka T10 tournament will move to December and the LPL to August.”

Sri Lanka Cricket has always supported the T10 format of cricket. Notably, it was the first Full member Nation to sanction & endorse its players to participate in the Abu Dhabi T10 League. With Sri Lanka giving its players a nod to participate in the Abu Dhabi T10 League, other cricket boards such as West Indies, Zimbabwe, Afghanistan & Bangladesh have also followed in Sri Lanka’s footsteps.

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!

SLC to launch Lanka T10 League in June 2023
Sarah Shaikh
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

AUS vs WI 1st Test Day 2: Smith, Labuschagne’s ton powers Australia to 598-4

AUS vs WI 1st Test Day 2: The Australian clan was all pumped up after having a fantastic Day  1. They carried ahead the...

ENG vs PAK 1st Test: England registers a record breaking 506 runs on Day 1

ENG vs PAK 1st Test: England's Cricket team scripted history by becoming the first team in the history of World Cricket to register more...

ILT20: Sharjah Warriors appoints Moeen Ali as their Captain

England’s all-rounder Moeen Ali has been appointed as the Captain of the Sharjah Warriors franchise for the inaugural edition of ILT20 beginning in January...

BCCI announces appointment of three-member CAC

The BCCI on Thursday appointed a three-member Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) including former India Cricketers Ashok Malhotra, Sulakshana Nail & Jatin Paranjpe. The elite...