Thursday, February 2, 2023
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News Sarkar, Shoriful named in Bangladesh T20 World Cup Squad

Sarkar, Shoriful named in Bangladesh T20 World Cup Squad

Sarkar, Shoriful named in Bangladesh T20 World Cup Squad

Bangladesh has made two changes in their final 15-member squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 down under. They have included Soumya Sarkar & Shoriful Islam in their main squad for the marquee event.

Earlier, it was reported by Cricbuzz that the duo is expected to make a cut in the T20 World Cup squad as the team management is unhappy with the performance of Mohammad Saifuddin & Sabbir Rahman who were initially named into the Bangladesh T20 World Cup squad.

The BCB announced on Friday that they have submitted the final squad for the T20 World Cup 2022 ahead of ICC’s deadline tonight for the participating teams to change the players & name the final World Cup Squad.

“Batter Soumya Sarkar & pacer Shoriful Islam who were on the standby list have been selected in the T20 World Cup 2022 squad. The duo will replace Sabbir Rahman & all-rounder Saifuddin who were initially named in the 15-member original squad which was announced on September 14,” the BCB stated in its Statement.

Sabbir & Saifuddin will return to Bangladesh from New Zealand where the Bangladesh team was involved in a T20I Tri-Series with hosts & Pakistan. BCB has named no traveling reserves with Bangladesh’s team.

BCB is unhappy with the performances of Sabbir & Saifuddin

Bangladesh’s Chief Selector, Minhajual Abedin stated, “Before the start of the Asia Cup 2022, the consultant had a plan to fit a player in a specific position. Thus we had a plan to move Sabbir up in the top order. The responsibility of a player in the T20 format is very crucial. The format demands pro-activeness from players & they need to be conscious as overs finish quickly. Self-assessment is  important here & Sabir wasn’t able to do that perfectly.”

Further talking about Saifuddin’s form Abedin said, “He has been struggling for days. He sustained an injury during T20 World Cup 2021. However, after recovering he returned to domestic cricket but was not fit. He couldn’t go back to West Indies due to a back injury. But in the Tri-Series we have monitored his performance & we are not happy with it.”

Bangladesh T20 World Cup Squad will head to Brisbane on Saturday where they will play two warm-up fixtures against Afghanistan & South Africa on October 17 & 19, before beginning their campaign on October 24.

Bangladesh Squad for T20 World Cup:

Shakib Al Hasan (C), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Soumya Sarkar, Litton Kumar Das, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Nurul Hasan Sohan (wk), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Sarkar, Shoriful named in Bangladesh T20 World Cup Squad
Sarah Shaikh
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

IND vs NZ: New Zealand announces Squad for India T20I series

IND vs NZ: New Zealand has announced 15 member squad for their upcoming T20I Series against India beginning later this month. And there comes...

SEC vs PC Prediction, Sunrisers Eastern Capitals vs Pretoria Capitals Probable Playing XIs

SEC vs PC: The much anticipated SA20 league has begun with zest & peps with big names of World Cricket participating in the tournament....

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars put an end to their Losing Streak

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars powered a thumping victory over Adelaide Strikers in their recently concluded pool stage fixture in Victoria. With this victory,...

BCCI to unveil Women’s IPL franchises on January 25

The Board of Cricket Control for India (BCCI) is set to announce the names of the five franchises that will battle it out for...