Thursday, February 2, 2023
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News Suresh Raina announces Retirement from all forms of Cricket

Suresh Raina announces Retirement from all forms of Cricket

Suresh Raina announces Retirement from all forms of Cricket

Suresh Raina Retirement: There comes a major shock for all the cric-fans! The former India & UP batter, Suresh Raina has announced his retirement from all forms of cricket with immediate effect. This marks the end of Suresh Raina’s domestic & IPL career. For the unversed, Raina had already retired from International Cricket back on August 15, 2020, shortly after MS Dhoni announced his retirement.

“It has been an absolute honor to represent my country & state UP. I would like to announce my retirement from all formats of cricket,” Raina posted on Twitter on Tuesday.

Suresh Raina’s decision will now allow him to participate in the tournaments like Road Safety Series as well as overseas T20 leagues. Suresh has already confirmed his participation in the World Road Safety Series 2022. He might also seek a NOC from the BCCI to feature in the overseas T20 leagues.

“I want to continue playing cricket for two or three years,” he was quoted as saying by Dainik Jagran. “There are some exciting youngsters who are coming through the ranks of Uttar Pradesh cricket. I have already taken my No Objection Certificate (NOC) from the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association (UPCA). I have informed BCCI secretary Jay Shah and vice-president Rajiv Shukla about my decision.”

“I will play in the Road Safety Series. T20 franchises from South Africa, Sri Lanka, and UAE have contacted me but I am yet to take any decision,” Raina added to his statement.

Suresh Raina Retirement: An overview of his Illustrious Career

Suresh Raina who had featured in 226 ODIs, 78 T20Is & 18 Tests for India hasn’t featured in any first-class or list A cricket since 2018. His last IPL fixture came back in October 2021 when he hit the field for Chennai Super Kings. Raina has been an integral part of CSK’s line-up since the inaugural edition of IPL in 2008. Raina played for CSK in 11 seasons between 2008 to 2021. During his tenure with CSK, the franchise won four IPL titles in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021. Suresh Raina still remains CSK’s highest run-scorer with 5528 IPL runs amassed in 205 matches. However, despite being the highest run-scorer for CSK, the franchise didn’t retain him ahead of the IPL 2022 Auction. He went under the hammer but wasn’t picked by any of the ten franchisees.

Suresh Raina touched heights of success in all formats of Cricket

Suresh Raina began his domestic career with the senior team of UP state in 2002-03 & had made his International debut after two years in 2005. He has earned laurels of success in first-class & List A format by bagging huge runs in his kitty. He had played 109 first-class fixtures amassing 6871 runs & scalping 41 wickets. However, it was in limited overs format where Raina achieved more success. He played 302 List A fixtures, amassing  8078 runs and taking 64 wickets.

On the basis of his spectacular performances in List A & T20 format Suresh Raina was fast-tracked into the national side. In T20 cricket too he earned a mark for himself by playing 336 matches & returning with 8654 runs & 54 wickets. Suresh Raina was also a part of the Indian team who won the ICC World Cup in 2011. He was the first Indian batter to score a century in all formats of cricket.

One of the finest fielders of the Indian Cricket team, Raina took over 100 catches across all formats. A renowned name of the UP State team, Raina had led his side to victory in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in 2016-2017.

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Suresh Raina announces Retirement from all forms of Cricket
Sarah Shaikh
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

IND vs NZ: New Zealand announces Squad for India T20I series

IND vs NZ: New Zealand has announced 15 member squad for their upcoming T20I Series against India beginning later this month. And there comes...

SEC vs PC Prediction, Sunrisers Eastern Capitals vs Pretoria Capitals Probable Playing XIs

SEC vs PC: The much anticipated SA20 league has begun with zest & peps with big names of World Cricket participating in the tournament....

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars put an end to their Losing Streak

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars powered a thumping victory over Adelaide Strikers in their recently concluded pool stage fixture in Victoria. With this victory,...

BCCI to unveil Women’s IPL franchises on January 25

The Board of Cricket Control for India (BCCI) is set to announce the names of the five franchises that will battle it out for...