Fake Fielding in Cricket: IND vs BAN clash in the ongoing T20 World Cup 2022 was no less than a roller coaster ride for cric-fans. But what happened after the clash turned out to be more interesting for the fans. India managed to grab the top spot at the Points Table by registering a five-run win by DLS Method in a rain-curtailed match against Bangladesh. However, after the fixture controversy was evoked when Bangladesh’s Wicket-keeper Nurul Hasan claimed that Virat Kohli practiced ‘Fake Fielding’ during the chase.
What did Nurul Hasan said about the ‘Fake fielding’ Incident
After the match ended, Nurul Hasan spoke about the fake fielding incident & highlighted errors in Umpiring Decisions during the IND vs BAN clash. He said, “We all saw that it was wet ground during the fixture. Eventually, when we talk about these things there was also a fake throw. It could have been a five-run penalty. That also could have gone our way, but unfortunately, even that didn’t materialize.”
What actually happened?
The match unfolded with India batting first & posting a target of 185 runs for Bangladesh. However, rain played a spoilsport during the second innings reducing the match to 16th overs with a revised target of 151 for Bangladesh.
The incident happened in the 7th over of Bangladesh’s innings. Batter Litton Das smashed an Axar Patel’s delivery to the offside & ran for two runs. Arshdeep threw the ball toward the keeper. While Kohli standing at Point region in front of Dinesh Karthik was seen faking a gesture of collecting the ball & throwing the ball to the non-striker’s end despite not having the ball in hand. This deceptive action is known as Fake Fielding in cricket. A video of the entire incident surfaced on social media
Nurul Hasan said that if the umpire had paid heed to Kohli’s fake fielding action then Bangladesh could have been awarded extra five runs & the result could be ended either way. Interestingly Bangladesh fell five runs short of the target & suffered a defeat at the hands of India. Virat’s gesture went unnoticed by everyone on the field including on-field umpires such as Chris Brown & Marais Erasmus. The penalty should have been awarded by the umpires in real-time.
As the controversy mounts let’s have a look at the Rules for Fake Fielding in Cricket
Rules addressing Fake Fielding were introduced by the ICC in 2017, let’s have a look at them:
Under Section 41.5 of Cricket, it is stated, “Deliberate, deception, distraction or obstruction of batter can lead to five runs penalty if the umpires find the fielding side guilty.”
Section 41.5.1 states, “It is unfair for any fielder to wilfully attempt by word by action to distract or obstruct either batter after the striker has received the ball.” While section 41.5.2 adds to the statement, “It is for either one of the umpires to decide whether any distraction, deception or obstruction is wilful or not.”
What’s BCB’s Reaction to the Incident?
The ICC is planning to host a board Meeting in Melbourne next week during the ongoing T20 World Cup 2022. And BCB will raise the issue in front of the World Governing Body said BCB’s cricket Operations Chief Jalal Yunus.
Bangladesh has two wins & two defeats from four matches while India has three wins from 4 matches. If Bangladesh would have been awarded five extra points then the results would have ended in their favor & would have increased their chances to qualify for the playoffs. However currently after five runs defeat Bangladesh is placed at the fourth spot on the Points table & India occupies the top spot on the Group 2 standings.
It’s clear that as per the rule, Fake Fielding is prohibited in Cricket & fielding teams practicing this deceptive action are entitled to a penalty.
Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!