Ireland Women vs Zimbabwe Women 2021: Ireland named a 15 member squad for their iconic Zimbabwe tour

Ireland Women vs Zimbabwe Women 2021: Ireland named a 15 member squad for their iconic Zimbabwe tour

Ireland Women vs Zimbabwe Women 2021: Ireland Cricket has named a 15 member squad for the ODI series against Zimbabwe women starting from October 5 in Harare. Ireland Women will lock horns with the Zimbabwe Women in ODI series for the first time since 2018 while Zimbabwe Women will feature in their first Official ODIs after they were granted ODI status in April this year.

Ireland last played an ODI series against New Zealand in 2018 which they eventually lost by 0-3 scores. In the 15 member squad announced by Ireland Cricket, Laura Delany is named as the Captain while Shauna Kavanagh, Gaby Lewis, Cara Murray & Mary Waldron are also included in the Irelands’ 15 member squad. These players were also a part of the Ireland squad that toured Zimbabwe in 2018.

“This tour will be an important part of our build-up to next month’s World Cup Qualifier, & will provide e the team with an excellent opportunity to experience playing conditions in Zimbabwe & at a key host venue as a part of that Qualifier”, said Ireland Women’s Head Coach Ed Joyce as per an ICC release.

“Our focus in recent months has been predominantly T20 Cricket, so these fixtures are even more valuable to the players as a means of resetting their approach to take on the longer format of the game”.

“Several of the players in the squad were part of the 2018 side as well that toured Zimbabwe & while that series suffered due to numerous rainouts, the competitiveness & quality of both the teams were tested, & we expect that this series will no different”, added the release.

Zimbabwe Women will head into this series riding on the confidence of the victory they sealed in the recently concluded ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier, advancing to the global qualifier in 2022.

All the matches of the four-match ODI series will be played in Harare. The tour precedes the ICC Women’s cricket World Cup Global Qualifier that will be played in Zimbabwe in November & will be a good opportunity for the teams to get geared up for the Global Qualifier matches.

Ireland Women vs Zimbabwe Women 2021: Ireland Squad

Laura Delany (C), Zara Craig, Georgina Dempsey, Sarah Forbes, Amy Hunter, Shauna Kavanagh, Gaby Lewis, Sophie MacMahon, Jane Maguire, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Celeste Raack, Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron

Ireland Women vs Zimbabwe Women 2021: Full Schedule

October 51st ODIHarare Sports Club
October 72nd ODIHarare Sports Club
October 93rd ODIHarare Sports Club
October 114th ODIHarare Sports Club

Catch up with the Latest Cricket News on Ireland Women vs Zimbabwe Women 2021, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here