Women’s CPL Final: Trinbago wins by 10 runs to clinch the Title


Women’s CPL Final: Trinbago wins by 10 runs to clinch the Title

The Women’s CPL Final wasn’t a high-scoring affair as both the teams managed to score just 190 runs together in 38.4 overs- at under five an over. But the contest still became a thriller as both the teams put their every effort to clinch the title. But it was Trinbago Knight Riders whose efforts yielded fruits as they won the inaugural Women’s CPL title.

Women’s CPL Final: Deandra Dottin’s Gutsy 59 runs knock laid the foundation for their win

The match unfolded with Barbados Royals winning the toss and opting to bowl first. Their decision to bowl first paid dividends as the Royals were successful in restricting Knight Riders Women’s team to their lowest total in the tournament. In the last three games which they had played, Trinbago Knight Riders were able to score 114 for 7 and 105 for 6 & the total of 100 marked their lowest total in the Women’s CPL 2022.

Only Dottin & Sune Luus were able to register double-digit scores for Riders while the rest of the batters were dismissed cheaply on single-digit scores. Deandra Dottin & Sune Luus stitched a crucial 29-run stand to keep the Riders alive in the match. Deandra Dottin was the lone fighter for the Riders by scoring 59 runs off 62 balls. While Sune Luus amassed 12 runs off 16 balls. Later, Dottin further stitched a 32-run stand for the fifth wicket with Lyshona Knight (8) to ensure that Riders end up scoring at least 100 runs on baord.

For Royals, Matthews was the best bowler, who returned with figures of 3-22. None of their bowlers conceded runs at above six an over, but still, Qiana Joseph (3.50) and Afy Fletcher (4.25) were the most economical among them.

Riders rattled Royals batting order to win the Inaugural Edition

In reply, Barbados Royals too couldn’t get going with the bat as they failed to defend a meager 100 runs total. Here also team’s Captain, Matthews starred with the bat as she opened Royals innings & top scored for them returning with 46 runs off 49 balls. Except Matthews, none of their batters could register even 10 runs on board.

Aaliyah Alleyne (7), Chloe Tryon(7), and Chinelle Henry (7) all failed to hit the mark. At this point, Barbados Royals were in need of a stable partnership but couldn’t get any. Lone fighter Matthews was heading strong at one end with the bat but failed to get the support from the other. As a result, their innings were wrapped up for just 90 runs in 18 overs.

Trinbago Knight Riders starred with the ball as four of their bowlers returned with at least two wickets each. Anisa Mohammed was the most successful bowler with 3 for 16, while Luus, Hayley Jensen, and Sheneta Grimmond all picked up two wickets each.

With this nervy win, Trinbago Knight Riders became the winner of the inaugural edition of the Women’s CPL.

Women’s CPL Final: Brief Scores

Trinbago Knight Riders 100 for 7 (Dottin 59, Matthews 3-22) beat Barbados Royals 90 (Matthews 46, Mohammed 3-16, Luus 2-17, Jensen 2-18, Grimmond 2-22) by 10 runs

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!